Some people think public library is necessary; however, others believe that the public library is useless. What is your opinion?

There is an opinion that municipal libraries are impracticable, meanwhile there is an opposite point of view arguing that the libraries are required. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion.

On one side of the argument are those who assume that city libraries are pointless. This is because nowadays our society has entered to information technology era. As a result, almost every book can be found by public in an electronic format and there is no need to visit a local library in order to borrow a paper book. It is much more convenient to download a book from online store or a library that spend time on visiting a common library. In addition, some books can be available in audio format, which is very appealing for those who has reading disability.

However, it is possible to make an opposite case. First, publicly accessible libraries play role of the hard copy storages of information. It would play a significant role for the society in the worst-case scenario if electronic storage media were destroyed. As well as this, a lot people prefer to read paper books and attend municipal libraries quite regularly, especially taking into account academics and students. For instance, I used to have library cards for a few public libraries in the time of my student hood and borrowed paper-books while writing my research project.

In conclusion, having considered both sides of the argument I believe that public libraries are essential because they provide an access to valuable information and rare books being a safe storage and a comfortable place for reading them.