Some people think the qualities a person needs to become successful in today s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a discussion about whether or not higher education can provide students with qualities that can lead to success. While I accept that studying at university is useful, I believe students should also learn from real-life activities.

On the one hand, I agree that young people should attend academic institutions if they want to be successful. Firstly, when going to university or college, students can acquire basic knowledge about their fields. Universities often provide theories which have been collected by many experienced professors after years of researching. There are also a great number of materials and case studies provided to help students enhance their understanding of the subject, so learners can easily approach fundamental knowledge without putting too much effort. Secondly, university students are usually supported by tutors and instructors. All the questions arising can be answered quickly by those experts, so people who attend higher education could study more effectively than those who do not.

On the other hand, individuals cannot become successful with only academic knowledge. They need to broaden their skills in the real working environment. Theories learnt from universities could be very different from reality, so people are more likely to fail if they are not sufficiently prepared. For example, many students graduate with excellent results, but they cannot have a job due to their lack of experience. Furthermore, people need to improve their interpersonal skills apart from knowledge. In order to be successful, they need to know how to handle relationships and deal with others. These abilities can be gained through working or doing voluntary jobs.

In conclusion, I think people should improve their qualities through both academic institutions and real-life situations if they want to achieve success in current world.