Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that in this era a wide of emerging technology is creating a huge gap between upper and lower class society. While others say that the gap is narrowing. This essay will argue that although there is the negligible difference among different class of societies due to peer pressure, I believe that this gap remains constant due to their high cost of these technologies.

One the one hand, expensive possessions are becoming a sign of status symbol. People are buying more because an individual is considered as a rich if one has upgraded mobile phone and vehicle so people wanted to buy the latest devices to look rich. For example, Apple company published an annual report about an enormous increase in sales of their product and the buyer were equally from the upper, lower and middle class. However, I believe that if an individual somehow manages to cut down money from his monthly income just for maintaining a rich image in the society but eventually have to suffer in other aspects like loans and debts which also create a gap between different classes.

On the other hand, the latest technological devices are out of the reach of a common man. It is hard to make both ends meet because of the inflation of prices and new gadgets are equipped with these latest technologies but their prices are skyrocketing. Only upper-class can afford these luxuries. For illustration, in the new Ferrari car, artificial intelligence is installed and its worth is 5 million USD which is much expensive. I believe that these expensive possessions are creating a huge gap between rich and poor and it is a symbol of richness for an individual.

To conclude, although belongings that have the latest technology are a sign of richness so everyone is trying to buy these but some of them are so much expansive and it remains confined to the rich elite class which gave birth to inferiority complex in other classes.