Some people think that sports teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work

Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Although, it is sometimes thought that sports ought to teach children to compete, other people believe that the focus should be on cooperation. In my opinion, I consider that competition helps children learn the most skills for their future life.

On the one hand, some people think that children who learn to compete against each other often do better in sports and I agree. In the other words, the competition between children motivates them to excel in their sports or tasks which, consequently, produces better performance and results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their friends. Furthermore, being driven to achieve the best is vital in order to succeed later in life when as adults, they must compete against others in the international level.

On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the emphasis at sports is an cooperating with others. People do not play or socialise apart from others, so learning how to play along side other people ought to be taught from childhood. Without these skills, children would lack the ability to communicate with each other or know how to deal with confrontations and conflicts in a constructive way. Another reason why team skills are useful for children is that they can learn how to negotiate to complete a task. This is an essential skill to learn for their better future.

In recapitulation, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that children stand a better chance to succeed both in sports and later in life if they are encouraged to compete against each other.