Some people think that success is the best measure of intelligence while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some people that success indicates the intelligence level of a person. However, others reckon that the brainpower of an individual can be tested through other methods. I strongly disagree with the former notion. The essay firstly discusses how because of hard work and perseverance a person can be an achiever and later shows other parameters to test intelligence.

There are various factors which can lead to success such as the ability to cope with challenges and to learn from mistakes. It is often seen that resilient people tend to be more successful whether they are intelligent or not. In other words, because such people adapt to harsh and difficult circumstances that by their industriousness and zeal to achieve the goal, even if they fail, they bounce back and eventually succeed. For example, a survey in the UK shows that 80 per cent renowned entrepreneurs around the world pursued their ambition to set up a billion dollars empire due to their consistent efforts. Hence, the success of an individual is the outcome of their hard work and determination.

Social and emotional perceptiveness can also be a measure of intelligence. The ability to understand, manage and act wisely in relations by a person can also determine overall intelligence. It is not necessary that individuals who perform better in academics tend to be intelligent. To exemplify, someone who has sound theoretical knowledge may be good at acquiring information but if they don’t conduct themselves appropriately they can’t be termed as intelligent. Imperceptive may tell a funny joke, but at the wrong time.

In conclusion, the success of a person is the indicator of his hard work and resilience and not necessarily intelligence. However, being intelligent is not sufficient to be successful. It is the combination of a number of factors such as hard work, determination and diligence that lead to success.