Some people think that telling the truth is not always essential. It is necessary to tell lies sometimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, many people hold the assumption that the truth is not necessarily revealed under any circumstances, and that there are situations where telling lies tends to be the better alternative. I am totally in favor of this viewpoint, with relevant justifications being elucidated in the following essay.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that honesty is a highly-appreciated quality. To embark on, the truth, in some cases, is regarded as an incentive for one’s comprehensive development. This is because youngsters who are constantly paid overly flattering compliments seem to become boastful and unable to recognize their true competence, resulting in them living in their own illusory world without making any attempt to mature in life. Accordingly, only by learning to accept the fact and encountering harsh reality can a child devise the best way for their progress when growing up. Teenagers with a terrible voice, for example, should be made aware of their flaws, thus motivating them to practice and improve their voice. Furthermore, lying as a habit can culminate in anti-social behaviors in children. Teenagers who are free to tell lies without any supervision or proper guidance are more prone to get involved in harmful habits in life, especially turning to criminal activities.

On the other hand, I am also convinced that telling lies (particularly white ones), in certain cases, is of great significance. Firstly, people lie for the advantage of others. To illustrate, doctors may conceal fatal diseases from their patients, which is especially essential as the patients may live more happily, optimistically, and without any hurt feelings, so lengthening their lifespan. Secondly, lying can be a tactful technique of interpersonal communication. For instance, instead of exposing the truth about awful tastes of your friends’ foods, you might use a white lie to prevent their discomfort or feelings of being disrespected, hence maintaining the bilateral relationship.

By way of conclusion, while being honest is considered a core value in society, I also have a strong belief that telling lies should be taken into consideration for moral or polite factors as well, and therefore should not be overlooked.