Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that actions of individuals are wasteful and irrelevant, and it is only government and large businesses that can make a difference. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent times there have been a dramatic change in the weather conditions. While many believe that these changes can be controlled by taking important measures at an individual level, others are against this opinion and think that this problem can only be tackled by government and organizations. I accord with the former opinion and in my below essay I will discuss both the views with examples.

On the one hand, there are people who think that prevention of climate change is possible by individual efforts and I completely agree with this. Is the distorted weather condition not because of human interference? The answer is yes. One of the significant reasons behind this change is deforestation. If everyone understands his responsibilities and plants trees, there will be a drastic change in the present climatic conditions. For example, if each resident of a city, with a population of one lakh, plants a tree, there would be sufficient plants to combat pollution. This will bring in more rain and this will further acclimatize the weather conditions.

On the other hand, government and big industries also plays a critical role in this. By imposing strict rules on deforestation and by motivating people to grow more trees, they can contribute in diminishing pollution. For example, in several Indian states, cutting trees is considered as a criminal activity and heavy fines are levied. Also, there are several companies which perform CSR activities wherein they encourage people for planting trees. Moreover, these initiatives help a great deal to slow down the pace of climate change

In conclusion, I concur that though government and companies can contribute in balancing the weather conditions through stringent rules and CSR activities, it cannot be done without the support of people.