Many people hold the view that keeping animals in zoos are unethical and it should be radically changed, while others claim that they can serve as protection for wild animals. In my opinion, there would be no need to completely shut down zoos if we could modify the idea of it.

There is a common belief that humans have no rights to capture and confine animals, even if this species is endangered. In addition, there are no zoo that can be compared to the wild, because it’s impossible to recreate the natural habitat in enclosure. Many species exist in various weather conditions and it’s hard to provide them all with suitable environment in tiny cages. Finally, huge animals, for instance elephants or giraffes, suffer from stress and boredom in enclosure.

On the other hand, there are still a lot of advantages of zoos. Nowadays it is promoting education of community by bringing people and animals together and connection of the society with the part of the wildlife. Another point is that by keeping endangered species in safe environment we protect them from threats they face in wild, such as poachers or predators. Furthermore, there are a lot captive breeding programs in zoos. In the wild these species might have troubles with breeding and they could die out.

To conclude, the ethic aspect of zoos is still very controversial topic of discussion. Although views differ, I believe that this problem might be solved by transferring endangered species to the national parks that are protected from threatens for animals. That doesn’t mean that it would be necessary to completely close zoos. I think that small creatures like rodents or insects can stay in enclosure and still connect visitors with the part of the wildlife.