Some people thinks that government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree

it is thought by few that if authorities impose higher tax on junk food, it will motivate masses to consume food which is nutritious and beneficial for health. I assert that it may reduce the consumption to some extend but not that much effective way to guide the public about their eating habits.

To begin with, increase in the price of fast food will only affect the weaker segment of society. In other words only poverty drive people will think to alternate their dishes because of this price increase. The affluent class will continue to go with their prefered choice, this means only segment of society will be effected because of high price. Therefore, it is not the best solution to the problem. Rather than accelerating the taxes government should try to teach the public about the adverse consequences of eating unhealthy food by organising educational campaigns.

Moving further, the predominant reason for this trend of preferring ready to cook food is lack of time. These days both male and female are working and career oriented and do not have spare time to cook their own meal, so they opt to packed no matter at what price. However, state can change the eating habit of public by making healthy food easily available so that it can convenient to opt for freshly cooked meals. Even though, if price of healthy meals will be high people will definitely choose them over unhealthy diets.

In conclusion, unequivocally putting higher tax may bring some changes in the eating pattern and preference of the customer but not that much. educating people about the health benefit of eating healthy food and making it easily available will be a better way to bring the change