Some people thinks that government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree.

We cannot emphasize the importance of the healthy diet too much because the junk food does harm to our health. Some people argue that the tax on junk food should be raised so that people will choose the healthy food instead. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this opinion.

First of all, the drawbacks are more than the merits if the government charges more tax on the junk food, like chips, deep-fried food, etc. it is no denying that the purchasing of unhealthy food will go down due to this policy since the price of junk food is higher than before. Nevertheless, this policy triggers some problem at the same time. For the reason that, the healthy food, especially like organic vegetable, is usually much more expensive than unhealthy food, families are required to spend more on living expenses if they need to pay extra tax on unhealthy food. This could be unaffordable for some poor families. Moreover, the tax could have huge impact on the unhealthy food industry which could lead to less sales and profits. As a result, the unemployment in this field will decrease in some degree.

I believe there are better solutions rather than adding tax on junk food pursuing people to have healthy food. One the one hand, the government can lower the price of healthy food so that it can be available for families in different classes. That is being said, the poor does not need to hesitate to buy it because of its affordable price. On the other hand, the concept of healthy diet should be introduced to all the citizens which accelerate the broad spreading of the healthy diet.

In conclusion, it seems to me that increasing the tax on junk food definitely is not the best solution to pursue public to have healthy diet since there are more disadvantages than benefits. I hold the opinion that the government should reduce the price of healthy food and introduce the concept of healthy diet to public so that they can start a healthy diet.