Some people like to travel outside their country. Others would rather travel to tourist spots in their own country first, before traveling abroad. Which do you prefer to do and why? Include specific details and example to support your choice.

Not only enjoyment, tourism is also considered a collosal source of income for a nation. A section of society prefers to visit some exotic locations outland whereas others like to explore their own nation before going overseas. I favour the latter choice and will scrutinize the contributing factors in forthcoming paragraphs.

The approach of spending holidays abroad discourages local tourism along with limiting the growth of places with tourist attractions. In other words, funds of a nation been spent on vacations in other countries rather than being used in one's own land, indirectly affects the economy of a region. Sri Lanka for instance, was hit by an economic crisis despite being a tourist spot because people of the nation ignored the local tourism and preferred to spend their resources visiting nearby countries like Maldives as per a survey conducted in 2019.

Visiting the local places on the other hand provides a of benefits. It boosts the infrastructural growth of a tourist place with the generated revenue and ultimately filling the pockets of the local vendors. In order to achieve success in this sector, footfall of travelers on a regular basis is crucial as it makes more citizens' earn their livelihood . If the frequency of visitors is high, it would encourage the locals to grow as an industry. For example, India being a diverse country, most Indians like to visit other states of their own country to have vacations which boosts the economy of the tourism industry.

To encapsulate, though it is a personal choice to select a destination for holiday, one should consider both its merits and demerits before opting such places. However, development of the native country should definitely be considered first by the richer section of society that can afford expensive outland vacations.