Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples from your experience.

Sometimes it is heard that people try to find solutions to their medical issues via searching on the Internet. It appears that people are not aware of the risk to cure without scientific knowledge. I explain why this development is negative in this essay.

Firstly, individuals at any levels of education can have access to general medical information on the Internet. However, most of them are not totally correct and people are not able to distinguish which one is true, or which one is false. When people catch a cold, for instance, they may google to find remedies to relieve their symptoms while they do not have the knowledge about consequences of taking different medicines such as overdose, an allergy to some medicins, and damaging impacts of taking several medicines at the same time. In addition, the second and perhaps the most significant drawback of this development is that some medicine manufacturers convince people through advertisement to buy their products that can be dangerous for their health. Thus, the death rate of the wrong use of medicines would be dramatically increased.

It is true that people are capable of solving their problems independently thanks to technological advances. Despite this, it seems that it is not logical to use the Internet for finding medical treatment without the administration of a doctor.

To conclude, it seems to me that, although using the Internet is the most accessible way to raise the level of knowledge in various fields, medical treatments which are related to human's body health should not be searched on the Internet.