Nowadays people are affected by social media and the Internet. Is it a good or a bad trend in your opinion? Explain it by giving your own examples.

Recently, the ever-increasing use of the media and the internet is no more surprising as they are penetrating into even unknown areas throughout the world. Whether this trend is positive or negative is a moot question. However, It seems that the positivity of this far outweighs the negativities of which. I will explain why in this essay.

It goes without saying that the pervasive media and the internet as means of instant communication have altered human relationships beyond recognition. People, for example, can communicate with others in far distant areas everywhere in the world. This help people keep contact with their former friends or make new friends overseas by which they can share their knowledge and experience. Further and even more importantly, though, time and money are able to be saved far more as many tasks and duties are now possible to be done at home or somewhere other than just workplace by the advent of the media and the Internet. Many students, for instance, can pursue higher education more efficiently through distance learning, or a surgery can be done even if the surgeon lives in a far distant area.

Having said that some issues such as identity theft, Internet fraud, hack or even misleading people by wrong teaching are just some of the downsides. Nevertheless, the Internet and the media are not inherently trouble- making unless by the wrong use meaning that what makes these facilities dangerous is just the people who utilise them. So that, If people use these in a right way, there will be no more threatening danger in the media and the internet.

Overall, the Internet and the social media have a significant effect on people, some of them affect positively and other ones affect negatively. I am of the belief that the upsides of the Internet and the media far outweigh their negative effects.