Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends, others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and love. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The exchange of gifts on special occasions is the centuries-old norm, and it is believed by some people that this is a vital way to convey your affection with others. However, others think that this is not the only proved method to show someone your love; there are several other ideas which can be effective to express your sentiments. I believe that the exchange of gifts is, undoubtedly, a traditional way to pour love but limited as well.

People always make efforts to develop strong bonding with their family members and friends and to accomplish this; they usually take the support of expensive and attractive presents. Even they spend money and time on choosing gifts because they want to amplify their affection with family and friends through valuable presents. Also, when people cannot express their emotions in words, then they consider that gifts can do this. This way gift receiver not only appreciates the gift but also starts believing that he is important to them. Although sometimes a wrong choice can do the opposite, buying gifts wisely is also equally important.

On the other hand, some people believe that offering support to your relatives and friends at the time of need is a louder way to showcase your care for them because it is a famous phrase " a friend in need is a friend indeed." Furthermore, pure and genuine moral support cannot be substituted with gifts like a pair of shoes or mobile phones. For the people who value emotions and feelings, monetary gains in the form of gifts are less or not important to them.

I value moral, emotional and physical assistance more than things as gifts. Indeed, gifts are one of the oldest forms of transforming your inner thoughts to someone; however, it is also a narrow way to do so. When my mother could not give me a present on my last birthday, I did not start thinking that she does not love me anymore. Since I have seen her doing efforts for my betterment on several occasions, therefore, I was aware of her affection for me. Her feelings are not dependent on any gift.