International travel is becoming cheaper and more countries are openning their doors to increase the number of tourists. Do the advantages of increasing tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

The tourism industry is flourishing because of economical travel packages available worldwide. Although this growing trend sometimes misuses natural resources, there are several benefits of it, such as revenue generation and promotion of culture. I believe that these benefits are far more significant than limited drawbacks.

Tourism activities produce a lot of revenue. Due to tourists, three businesses boost incredibly: Hotel industry, food industry and transportation services. When tourists visit other countries, they must avail services of these industries during their stay. It does not only generate income to governments and the business owners but also provides employment opportunities to the local people. Many countries, for instance Thailand, Maldives, Singpore, have strong economy and low unemployment rate on the basis of tourism, so it has a huge monetary benefit both for masses and governments. In addition, tourism helps in promoting culture of a country or place. Many tourists make documentaries about characteristics of food, buildings, climate and lifestyle of tourist places which they visit, and these documentaries are seen by many people around the globe when the tourists upload them on Youtube channels. Therefore, it enhances culture of a place and brings popularity to it.

As far as disadvantages are concerned, if countries do not have efficient management and administration, tourism will destroy natural resources of forests, rivers and valleys. When a large number of tourists visits a tourist attraction often, they deteriorate natural resources by overusing them. Muree, for instance, is a popular hill station in my country, and increasing human activities have almost destroyed its natural habitats of wild animals. Pollution besides destruction of natural habitats is another potential threat to the beauty of tourist places as visitors litter everywhere.

In my opinion, however, an effective administration can preserve natural resources and habitats since there are manageable issues. The fact of significant benefits of tourism, like income, employment and business development is hard to ignore, therefore, I believe its advantages far more than its disadvantages.