Some people who go to work abroad for a period of time take their family with them. Does it have more advantages than disadvantages for individual and their family?

It is quite a common practice for many people to work abroad to find better opportunities as it is convenient these days due to globalization. Many employees prefer to keep their families with them during the time of employment. Certainly, it has more advantages as compared to disadvantages.

First and foremost, they can take care of their family more reasonably. Their children need surveillance and a good upbringing guide which is only possible when both parents are living with them. Subsequently, these people can transfer moral and ethical values to their children. Secondly, individuals can also feel peace and happiness. People who are working abroad will be happy and would not feel homesickness if they will be living with their wife and children as they are a special part of everyone’s life and nobody wants to miss them. As a result, employees’ performance would be excellent at their work due to peace of mind and contentment. On a further note, foreign employment in developed countries can provide opportunities for a better lifestyle for their families. They can have quality education, food, living, and a chance to live in sophisticated societies like Finland, Norway, and Ireland.

Conversely, the cost of living is quite high in many developed countries. House rents, children's education especially in colleges and universities, and medical facilities are quite over the budget in such countries for an individual. Therefore, people can provide quality living to their families but they would not be able to make enough savings. Furthermore, people who are living abroad for decades are more likely to forget their culture and cultural values. Now they are part of new culture and society and they start to adopt new social norms which make them away from their own culture. Consequently, they feel less passionate about their roots. Indians who, for instance, are living abroad for many years are less likely to celebrate their cultural and religious events.

The conclusion to be drawn is that many employees working abroad prefer to keep their families with them but there are few pros and cons. They can monitor their children as well as have feelings of contentment. They can also, provide a better lifestyle to them; however, it may be too costly to take them abroad and they can also forget their culture while living in a new culture and society.