Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think it is better to work for different organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Relationship between an enterprise and its employee plays a significant role for their future endeavours. For some, switching companies is of utmost importance for their financial and organizational growth. Whereas for others, getting associated with a single entity gives them a sense of ownership, and helps in their value creation. In my opinion, the importance of an individual staying with a particular organisation for his/her entire career outweighs the latter.

Working for a single organization helps individuals to attain an ownership sense, which then creates a path to grow within the organization. One of the best examples to quote this is of Mrs. Chanda Kochhar. She started as a Management Trainee and later became CEO of ICICI Bank. It was her ownership sense that motivated her to work hard and cross the benchmarks. Another reason that can be cited is sticking with an organization for longer period creates value for individuals. They are the ones who other people in the organization admire to be. It gives them a sense of achievement and pride as they adhere to their moral high ground and achieve their desired goals.

Having said that, for some people income is the motivating factor that drives them from one organization to other. Moreover, these individuals try to climb the organizational hierarchy a bit faster to achieve their desired goals and outperform others. They do achieve this in short term but it may affect their career and growth in future. Companies invest in employees to develop their talents. But with people switching, it leaves them with a sense of irresponsibility and frustration.

As I discussed both the views, I conclude that some people tend to move from one organization to other to grow instantly which they may for a shorter duration. While others try to put all their efforts in a single organization, which helps them to gain and achieve more in their future.