In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.

To what extent do you agree?

Owing to the independent culture these days, females prefer to stay single for their entire life. A better part of society thinks that this is because they are self dependent, and hence, monetary safety through marriage is no longer considered by them. I agree with the above notion, but only to a certain extent. Though self-reliance on earning plays a prominent role in taking this decision, work and family aspects should also be looked after.

One of the main reasons that money is considered as a vital factor while deciding to not get hitched by women is that in yesteryears, due to conservative culture, females were not allowed to study or work. So they had no say while choosing a life partner and had to compromise. Also, they had to depend on their husband for their basic monetary needs. Another reason that can be mentioned here is that being able to earn gives a boost to their self-worth, which in turn, helps them to gain confidence. And it is this confidence that helps them to make life changing decisions in a better way. Furthermore, this self-worth helps them to create an impact in their social life, because of which they are thought as an esteemed figure and people aspire to be like them.

Having said that, apart from money, there are some other factors too that women keep in mind before taking this decision. One of them is work. Females these days are well educated and even they dream to become successful in their working field. It is of utmost importance to them and hence, it comes first. In some cases, these ladies worked so hard their entire life to achieve a desired goal, that there is nothing as important to them as their work. Another factor that needs a limelight is family. No matter what, women are not ready to get separated from their closed ones. While one reason for this can be that they are forced to stay with their family members due to a mishappening, another reason for this could be the love and affection they get from their own family, which they think they may not get from the in-laws.

To conclude, though, no one can deny the fact that self-dependence has led female fraternity to stay single, important factors like their job and their family too have contributed in this change and hence, are responsible for the same.