Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organizations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Workplace plays a vital role in development of an individual. While some try to stick with a single company for their entire life, others believe it is better to work for multiple organizations. In my opinion, though being employed by a single entity for entire life might seem fruitful for someone whose goals match with company one’s, it does lack the fact that it makes them loose the opportunity to earn more. Working for different organizations not only enables to have a better financial growth, but also provides chances to gain more exposure in the corporate world.

To start with, people who love to spend their entire career working for the same employer are of the belief that their set of objectives are similar to that of the organization. In other words, their mission and vision towards their goals are in line with their employer. Hence, they are more than happy to work for them. To exemplify, Mrs.Chanda Kochar (ex CEO) started as a management trainee at ICICI bank and worked her entire life with the same organization. When asked in an interview, she responded to this question and exciting told that only because of the goal of ICICI bank, she stayed there for her entire career. Moreover, it helps them to create value not only for their company, but also for self, along with providing a sense of belonging, as well as purpose. These all things, in turn, facilitates these individuals to have an adequate work life balance while gaining peace and satisfaction.

rr

Coming to the other part, with the mindset to earn more money in less period of time, along with fast growth in the corporate hierarchy, some people choose to switch between companies. They are better aspirers and for them, being rich is of an utmost importance, keeping in mind their professional growth simultaneously. As a result, it enables them to secure their family’s future and makes them entitled to a lavish lifestyle. It also helps them to rise their social status and makes them a prominent decision taker. To illustrate, one of my college friend got recruited by Infosys. And just in 4 years of time, he managed to increase his income by 3 times. For this, he switched 3 companies and now he is working with Indusind bank. Therefore, we can say that changing companies do helps when good financial growth is required. Furthermore, these type of people work for number of entities to gain better exposure in types of companies. This helps them in attaining more skill sets and keep them above par in this competitive environment.

To conclude, for some, working at a single place for their entire professional career can be manageable for the reason that they are somehow in line with company’s style of doing work and their professional goals. But it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. No one can deny that in today’s materialistic world, monetary growth is far more important for almost everyone, and for that, most of people choose to switch their jobs. Not only it helps them with more money, but also opens ways to gain more exposure, that gives a boost to their career, which according to me carries more weight and therefore, should be more focused upon.