Some say that people working in different job roles should get different amounts of holiday time. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

It is believed by some that the extent of holiday leave should differ for employees occupying disparate positions. While the author of this essay disagrees than the amount of holiday time should vary based on a hierarchical role, the writer’s view is that the extent of leave should be dependent primarily on job’s requirements.

On the one hand, the number of annual leave should not vary based solely on the seniority of the position. In other words, people who occupy different hierarchical positions but perform their duties in the same working environment should have an equal amount of vacation per year. To illustrate, office workers are exposed to relatively equal conditions and equally sacrifice their health regardless of their positions and responsibilities, therefore, there are no real reasons for them to have a different amount of holiday. For that reason, this essay disagrees that the amount of holiday should vary depending on job roles.

On the other hand, the amount of holiday time should be different for occupations that require different physical resources. For example, comparing a store clerk with a worker in a coal mine, the latter is exposed to harsher conditions, such as the ambient temperature, air pollution and safety risks, which hardships should be compensated. Consequently, to have an opportunity for recovery, people working in difficult conditions should be granted lengthier holiday. In addition, such differences might help recruit more employees for health demanding occupations, which is in the best interest of society.

Overall, although some people think that the length of a holiday should differ based on the person’s occupation, the author of this essay believe that the amount of annual holiday should not depend on a hierarchical position, but should correlate with the employee’s expenditure of energy and exposure to health risks.