Some say that when a person achieves success in their job, it means that he/she is selfish and doesn’t care about others. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that success is imperative for a majority of workers, and it is said that after being successful, one becomes self-centred. However, I do not agree with this opinion, and will explain why.

Firstly, it is pivotal to understand that success at the workplace has little to do with selfishness, because one may not even become successful, yet still remain self-focussed throughout his life. For instance, in Middle-east nations a substantial number of the working class, who are yet to climb up the career ladder are obsessed only about their well being, and pay no attention to the problems of others. Secondly, it would not be wrong to say that the more a working professional achieves career milestones, the more helpful he becomes, and this is paramountly due to increasing income associated with career success. In fact, working class with superior positions are found to be involved in philanthropic activities compared to below-average employees, as we see that many CEOs and managers usually support the underprivileged sections of the society in India by donating in charity. This is because a bigger pay cheque would allow them to spend more for the benefit of society besides being a source of immense help for family members and extended relatives. Finally, no one would deny that success at the workplace is a combination of selfless attributes such as decreased family time, minimal social life, and lending unwavering support for the company during hard times (in case a company witnesses a difficult financial year).

Of course, a certain percentage of the successful working class tend to become selfish after making it big in professional life. However, this behaviour could be the result of poor brought up from a very young age, or selfish peers and social circles after turning adults in many other cases.

To conclude, it seems that the aforementioned reasons are compelling enough to rule out the opinion that attaining success at work leads to selfish behaviour. This is not to say that every successful individual is selfless, but it appears to be the case very frequently.