Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, young generation who have just finished the high school have a trend of taking a gap year between high school and university. This essay will shed some light on both pros and cos of it. Although this have several disadvantages, the advantages may be far more.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that taking the gap year between high school and university have some drawbacks. In fact, taking a gap year of academic program makes students loose the motivations. This is very important because student need the continuous process of education. To adapt in the class after the long stopped time, students have to try by their utmost. This can lead to the fact that their results will be risk. The second problem is concerned, students loose confidence when they compare with their friends who continue to study in university. As a result, they will be risk in many diseases such as tress, headache, and depression.

Nevertheless, there are also several benefits to taking a gap between high school and university. As far as the first part is concerned, there are many opportunities for students who have the poor financial condition to get money from their part time job. To help their families who have difficult situation, students can share the necessary fees for their family or they don’t need the financial supports from their parents. Beside they can learn many skills such as communication skills, money planning skills and team work skills needed in their future career. Another issue is concerned, rick students who have the good financial condition from their parents can experience the real life before they study in the university. This makes them sympathize with friends in class and in their sharing rooms.

In conclusion, I still hold the belief that the disadvantages of taking a gap year between high school and university are overshadowed by advantages.