Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the younger generation who have just finished high school have a trend of taking a gap year between high school and university. This essay will shed some light on both pros and cons of it. Although this has several disadvantages, the advantages may be far more.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that taking the gap year between high school and university has some drawbacks. In fact, taking a gap year in an academic program makes students lose their motivation. This is very important because students need the continuous process of education. To adapt in the class after the long stopped time, students have to try by their utmost. This can lead to the fact that their results will be risk. The second problem is concerned, students lose confidence when they compare with their friends who continue to study in university. As a result, they will be at risk in many diseases such as trees, headaches, and depression.

Nevertheless, there are also several benefits to taking a gap between high school and university. As far as the first part is concerned, there are many opportunities for students who have poor financial condition to get money from their part time job. To help whose family have difficult situation, students can share the necessary fees for their family or they don’t need the financial support from their parents. Besides,they can learn many skills such as communication skills, money planning skills and team work skills needed in their future career. Another issue is concerned, rich students who have good financial conditions from their parents can experience real life before they study in the university. This makes them sympathize with friends in class and in their sharing rooms.

In conclusion, I still hold the belief that the disadvantages of taking a gap year between high school and university are overshadowed by advantages.