Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the youth generation who have just finished high school have a trend of taking a gap year between high school and university. This essay will shed some light on both pros and cons of it. Although this has several disadvantages, the advantages may be far more.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that joining different activities after leaving high school without going to university has some drawbacks. In fact, losing a year of an academic program makes students feel gradually decreasing motivation. This is to be explanation why students need the continuous process of education. To adapt in the class after the long stopped time, students have to try by their utmost. This can lead to the fact that their results may be risky. The second problem is concerned, there is no more confidence when students compare themselves with their friends who continue to take part in university. As a result, they could be at risk for many mental diseases such as stress, headache, and depression.

Nevertheless, there are also several benefits to spending a short time preparing essential elements before registering in university. As far as the first part is concerned, there are many opportunities for students whose poor financial condition earns more money from their part time jobs . To help their families who have difficult situation, students can share the necessary fees for their family or they don’t need the financial support from their parents. Besides, they can learn many skills such as communication, time management and team work skills needed in their future career. Another issue is concerned, rich students who have good financial conditions from supporting their parents can experience real tough circumstances when they have to cope with problems they have never seen before . This helps them easier sympathize with classmates and roommates.

In conclusion, I still hold the belief that the disadvantages of taking a gap year between high school and university are overshadowed by advantages.