Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or travel

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days, students have modern thoughts about studying, and instead of going directly from high school to higher education, as usual, they tend to take a year to do other things. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend. I believe that there are outweighed by advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks of delaying tertiary education for one year. First, students may feel lose self-confidence after returning to study because they learn slower compared to their peers. Second, it is very easy for students to drop out of college if they can find a job during their trip. Therefore, this may have negative impacts for students when they have to work with little experience, and sometimes they also become a victim of exploitation.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that student can enrich their life experience and gain useful knowledge which they can not learn at school. For example, they can broaden social relationships after working or get practical experiences in a particular field. Another reason is that students also determine suitable career paths for their future right away after coming back. Therefore, they can choose the ideal major to pursue in the very first year at college without wasting time and money.

In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of having a year-long break before attending higher education, I consider it to be a positive development overall.