Some think that buildings should be constructed with functionality in mind, as it is more important than design. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Designs of the buildings are generally associated with culture and art prevail in society and this can be seen by examine the different structures built in the world. Ignoring this concept, some people believe that functionality should always be kept in mind while completing a building as the goal of every constructed building is to be used by people for various purposes. I agree with this and explain the reason for it.

People who emphasis on the pattern of structure have some valid points. Firstly, buildings reflect the mood of the society and even after many years it tells the story of the time & living trend of the society. Many historical building exhibit itself the unique values and activities of that time. For example, RedFort in Delhi has peculiar design and talks about the stone carving, different shape play round, open theater, in house musical room and have more resemblance with Arab culture.

However, there is no doubt that every famous building is known for its usages and functions which provides different facility and luxury to its stakeholder. People use these building for numerous purposes and do not even talk about ecstatic aspects such as shape, color, interiors etc. For instance, Bukingam palace in London is not known for its design but many people come to see the palace and still king and queen of London reside in palace and it also used for purposes such as exhibition, organizing camp for immigrants and musical shows.

To conclude, design of building contributes in ecstatic aspects which are key consideration while constructing the building but everyone at the end wants to use for a purpose. Therefore, functionality aspects of the structure are more valuable than design.