Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the booming of online courses offered by different universities is gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world. Most importantly, the issue has become a bone of contention among the critics regarding its true benefits. While some experts contend that virtual education system is not at all a fruitful intervention for best learning, however, I strongly opine that it has lots of merits to the international students.

Firstly, through online courses, education is becoming disseminated beyond geographical boundaries. Therefore, anyone from any country can enroll in different university courses without any hassle. This means that now through this virtual and remote education system, the international students need not to bother about their student visas and other necessary arrangements for settling somewhere in abroad. The student from China, for instance, can smoothly earn a degree from the University of Michigan without traveling to the USA with no requirements for arranging accommodation and other livelihood issues. Therefore, undoubtedly, this is cost effective for that Chinese student.

Secondly, the schedule of the course offered at the virtual classroom is generally student-friendly. Hence, the students can pick any suitable time-slot. This enables them to run other paramount issues smoothly, for example, maintaining a nine to five job schedule as well as other personal business. Additionally, in most cases, the students have the freedom to attend the recorded versions of the class in case of any missed class and can sit for a computer-based evaluation too at their convenience. These wonderful student-friendly natures are making online courses more popular day by day. This can be exemplified by the busy schedule of an Indian Business graduate who started his own business, and side by side completing his MBA at the University of Toronto via an online course.

All things considered, the typical education system for international students are always expensive and takes a tremendous effort to make it happen. However, from that context, the virtual education system is really a bliss to those international students from all over the world.