Someday paper money and coins will be replaced by credit cards and online methods of monetary exchange. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that in the future credit cards and online payment ways will entirely take place of cash money. I, however, disagree with this notion as I believe along with plastic money and online fund transfer techniques, paper money will also be in circulation.

Increasing usage of modern technology will led people more likely to opt for cards and online transactions. Paytm, an online payment application, or card swiping machines are being used everywhere be it at petrol pumps, shopping malls, jewellery shop or while buying vegetables in the supermarket. It means ones need not to carry cash while buying any costly or cheaper products, just few clicks or card swipe can serve the purpose. In contrast to past, in order to purchase utilities, buyers had to bring cash and sometimes it could be excessive if the products are expensive which always had security concerns.

Due to flexibility of using cash, people will continuously use it in their day-to-day affairs. This is because, cards and plastic money can only be used with the help of computer software. At time of system failure or maintenance, a person is unable to cater his/her requirements. For instance, when technology failure occurs, all kind of online transactions cannot be performed. Moreover, in case of lost or steal of cards or mobile phone, these services are no longer in use. Paper money, on the other hand, does not require any form of technology involvement to use and can be kept in multiple places to ensure the safety.

In conclusion, despite the ever increasing popularity of cards as a form of money or online techniques of fund transfer, I believe owing to flexibility of paper money it will always be preferred by people.