Famine has been a serious issue over the world for a long time even though agriculture has undergone tremendous improvements. It is obvious that we need to solve the problem of hungry people who could not get the benefit of increased amount of agricultural produce. To devise possible solutions, we need to deal with reasons of the situation. Thus, reasons and solutions of the problem will be treated in the following paragraphs.

The main reason of starvation is the inequality of distribution of wealth which has been being happened internationally. Although we have more affluent food resources than ever, they are not equally distributed to every person in the world. Since most of them are consumed by rich people or countries, the share for poor people is not sufficient, which makes them suffer from hunger. The rich countries with high GDP such as USA or Japan are enjoying various kinds of food ingredients imported from other countries including the countries where the starvation rate is high. However, at the same time, people in some countries are going through harsh lack of food, even though they cultivate significant amount of produce most of which are exported to other developed countries.

To solve those matters, we have to secure the ways to ensure enough income and food resources for needy people. One of the ways is to enlarge fair trade all over the world. Fair trade is the concept of ensuring fair compensation for labour of farmers in poor countries. Because most of farmers in developing countries have been given too low income considering the amount of their labour, fair compensation would help them purchase and consume enough food. Also, national actions should be taken to prevent famine; banning excessive food resources export and protection of domestic farmers. In these ways, people might improve their life without worries about hunger.

To sum up, the inequality of wealth has caused that people experience starvation even though we have the enough amount of produce. As the solution of this problem, fair trade and national actions should be spread all over the world.