Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more

television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative

things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to

encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things? Give

reasons.

There may be various reasons for this inclination. One of the possible reasons is that television programmes that telecast shows for children are broadcasted throughout the day. These have addictive contents, eye-catching and colourful computer graphics.

Channels like ‘Cartoon Network’, ‘Pogo’, ‘Disney’ etc. are shown throughout the day. Another obvious reason is that parents do not have time to focus on their children, due to their busy work schedules. Therefore, they tend to keep their children focused on some activity that will not require much of their attention and watching television is one of such. Majorly these are the two reasons that tend to keep children away from pursuing any physical activity or creative pursuit.

Different measures can be taken to solve this increasing issue. The first one may be by setting a time frame for watching television. This can be done by altering the settings in the television set. For example, the television may be set up with timing to get switched off after a certain time. Secondly, parents must spend enough time with their children. They must get together to participate in any form of sports or creative task. Like, the parents could have a family sport on a weekly basis, this would involve the children more than television.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that there are noticeable details regarding the children being addicted to television, leaving no time for sports or creative tasks. This downward trend can be handled by quite a number of solutions, like the parents being personally involved in the upbringing of their children.