Study shows that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that educating people within the prison can decrease crime by allowing them to find jobs when they leave prison. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this argument because it is my belief that education is the key to success in this world.

Admittedly, there can be some practical issues when providing education to prisoners. Firstly, most of the aged offenders are not willing to learn new things and their primary level education also may not be enough. Secondly, governments should allocate some resource and money to do such change inside prisons and most of the developing countries cannot afford such systems. To explain, even though prisons are facilitated to provide some education, the willingness of the detainees has a significant impact to the outcome. Moreover, majority of old and uneducated people are not ready to learn new things due to their attitudes towards education and mental conditions such as laziness, and ignorance.

However, if prison authorities could implement such systems it would greatly help to reduce the crime rate. In fact, prisoners have to obey whatever the rule implemented inside and nobody can avoid that. Rather than providing curricular based education, each person should be allowed to learn whatever the skills which they are willing to learn. For instance, there may be some offenders who have done decent jobs before they get arrested and for such people, prison should allow to practice and update their knowledge on their previous jobs. In addition, new skill development program can be introduced to teach them some industry-related skills such as carpentry, and plumbing for males while for females, skills such as sewing, cooking and gardening can be introduced. This gives them some confidence in finding jobs after release and would help to prevent re-offending whilst reducing the crime rate.

In conclusion, I believe, although there are some challenges to implement such systems inside prisons, if provided, detainees would be greatly beneficial when finding jobs after they have been released