Sugar is not good for health. Some people think that government is responsible for limiting the consumption of sugar. While others think that it is an individual who should be responsible for how much sugar he should eat. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Excessive use of sugar is detrimental for human body because of various health issues associated with it. It is often argued that intake of sugar is controlled by government authorities, while others believe that sugar consumption in daily diet should be regulated at personal interest. Through this essay, I shall put light on both the aspects and will explain why only individual efforts are more important.

There are certain reasons due to which people consider higher authorities responsible for reducing the use of sugar. Firstly, governments can impose heavy taxes on the sugar items and this leads to slower sale of these products. In Australia, for instance, it has been seen that after increasing the taxes on such products, people are avoiding these sugar products. Secondly, governments can arrange awareness campaigns to educate public about the ill effects of excessive use of them. A good illustration of this is that many people have been influenced by such campaign programs broadcasted by officials. Due to aforementioned reasons people tend to believe that governments can take preventive measures to control sugar in daily use.

On the contrary, it is believed that reduction of sugar intake in diet is feasible at the personal level. Every person has his own metabolic rate and they know their limitations about the sugar level. For example, a person can consume higher sugar in comparison to other and with the help of regular exercise he might regulate the sugar level in blood. In addition to this, one can change the routine diet plan and with strict check on sugar intake various diseases, due to malfunctioning of body organs, can be avoided. Hence, with the help of exercise and disciplined diet, sugar level in the body can be regulated.

In conclusion, the authorities can play an important role to reduce the consumption of sugar by imposing tax and awareness campaigning, however, I strongly believe that it can be controlled more effectively at individual level through proper workout and limited use of sugar in the diet.