Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people sugar consumption, while others think that it is individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both view and give your opinion

It is often argued that the excessive intake of sugar should be controlled by government authorities, while others believe that sugar consumption in daily diet should be regulated at personal level. Through this essay, I shall put light on both the aspects and will explain why governments' efforts are more important.

There are certain valid reasons due to which people tend to believe that higher authorities are considered responsible for reducing the use of sugar. Firstly, governments can impose heavy taxes on the sugar items that leads to limited sale of these products. In Australia, for instance, it has been seen that after increasing the taxes on such products, people are avoiding these sugar products. Secondly, governments can arrange awareness campaigns to educate public about the ill effects of sugar. A good illustration for this is that many people have been influenced by such campaign programs broadcasted by officials. Due to aforementioned reasons people have opinion that governments can take preventive measures to control sugar in daily use.

On the contrary, it is said that regulation of sugar intake in diet is feasible at an individual level. Every person has his own metabolic rate and they know their limitations about how to control the sugar level. For example, a person who consumes higher sugar can look after the sugar concentration in the body by doing regular exercise. In addition to this, by changing routine diet plan and strict check on sugar intake, various diseases, due to malfunctioning of body organs, can be avoided. Hence, with the help of exercise and disciplined diet, sugar level in the body can be regulated. However, I believe, in the present day, these methods are difficult to follow.

In conclusion, although sugar level can be controlled by proper workout and limited use of sweet products, I strongly believe that the legislative powers can play a pivotal role to reduce the consumption of sugar by imposing tax and awareness campaigning. This would lead to a effective measure and everyone can live a healthy life.