Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. Given time, technology
will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree with this
statement?
In today’s world, the use of technology is ever-increasing. Even in classrooms technology
can be commonly seen. It is disagreed that technology will completely replace the teacher in the
classroom. Analyzing both the inability of a technology-driven teacher to discipline students in a
classroom as well as this robotic teacher’s hindrance to a student’s learning process will show
this.
Firstly, a teacher powered by artificial intelligence would have little to no control over its
students. For example, it is commonly understood that children require the watchful eye of a
teacher to ensure that they are indeed completing their class work and not fooling around during
class time. Unfortunately this is something that a robotic teacher simply cannot provide. Thus
this makes it clear why technology will never completely replace the teacher in the classroom.
Secondly, a robotic teacher would disrupt a student’s learning process and in effect slow a
student’s ability to absorb information from lessons. For instance, kids require motivation to be
taught effectively. Such is a quality human teachers possess but technologically driven instructor
do not. From this it becomes quite evident that robotic instructors will never take the place of
real teachers in a classroom.
In summary, a robotic teacher lacks the discipline needed to instruct students properly and
actually operates to retard a student’s ability to learn new information. Thus it is clear why the
idea of having a class run entirely by a machine cannot be supported. After analyzing this
subject, it is predicted that the negative aspects of the debate over computerized teaching will
forever be stronger than the positive ones and because of this computers will never replace
teachers.