The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashions in clothes and other consumers goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people likes to imitate other people, most especially when it comes to the latest trend in fashion and other consumer goods. This phenomenon I think is attributed to the social pressures that people are constantly subjected to. This is a very common trend nowadays, especially that we are living in a modern age were people are able to know the latest popular consumer goods of other countries through the use of the internet which allows them to be updated about things.

For one, people are constantly faced with social pressure and acceptance that they would do things in order to feel belonged. For instance, nowadays people wear light clothing such as T-shirts, shorts and jeans. If a person wears a bit different, such as clothes that are different from normal clothing that people wear, they would certainly see them as inappropriate and often times they are targeted for jokes and amusement. In other words, humans have a tendency to follow social conformity in order for them to be accepted by others.

Moreover, people have a tendency to be jealous of other people possessions and would also think of trying one for themselves. For instance, a man who had bought the latest model of a smartphone which he showed to his friends; Upon seeing how beautiful the phone was and how powerful its specs were, they decided to buy one too. This is why people have the tendency to copy one another due to the reason that they envy what they do not have.

In conclusion, I am persuaded to say that people imitate each other because of the need to be part of the norms of the society. It helps them to feel they are belonged and they are not different from other people.