There are social, medical, and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What forms do they take? Do you think that these problems outweigh the benefits?

In today’s world, the use of mobile phones has increasingly gained popularity due to its tremendous benefits. However, some people believe that there are dire consequences that come with the excessive use of these technical devices. In my opinion, the advantages of using smartphones outweigh the drawbacks and I shall support my opinion with the following arguments.

To begin with, mobile phones provide us access to their functionalities that play significant roles in our daily lives. These functionalities range from cameras to messaging apps, chat apps, and ebooks. Frequently cited examples of these messaging apps are Facebook messengers and WeChat which enable us to connect with our friends, family, and loved ones by sharing chats, pictures, and Gifs. In the same way, these technical devices drive us to become more creative as they provide photo editing apps and video editing apps. Also, the stress and hassle of experiencing traffic just to meet and to connect with people are reduced to the barest minimum. Therefore, there is no denying that these mobile devices have become a pivotal part of our daily lives and almost everyone now owns one around the world.

People who discourage the use of mobile phones, on the other hand, are wary of isolation and loneliness. They believe that the ability to connect with the rest of the world through mobile phones from the privacy of our homes increase shut-ins and lowers social interaction. Before the era of mobile phones, people attended social gatherings to connect with friends and loved ones but these days, they just do that over the phones. For example, there is nothing more annoying than talking to people who are distracted or engrossed in their phones. They become oblivious to the fact that people want to hang out and chat. In fact, social apps like Netflix and Iroko now cater to isolated consumers. Furthermore, the opponents of smartphones opine that the use of these mobile devices are addictive and can cause physical harm like eyes sores or brain damages. They, however, recommend that people become cautious of these consequences while using their smart devices.

To conclude, I strongly assert that the benefits of using mobile phones outweigh the drawbacks. Nonetheless, we must pay attention to these drawbacks as well as explore other advanced and healthier ways of achieving social connections.