There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

There is no deputing that the rise of evaluating students via exams instead of continual assessment is a current tendency. This essay will delineate its positive and negative aspects.

On the one hand, there are some considerable advantages to assessing students through exams. To commence with, the exams can evaluate students’ knowlegde that continual evaluation can not. For instance, in some school systems, they require a placement examination to determine the starting level for candicates. Without this exam, it is not possible to filter out eligible candidates from among thousands of aspirants. Subsequently, the questionnaires of the exams always involve entire study program. By doing the test, students have potential to check their knowledge as well as ability of memorizing that they have learn whole semester.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some drawbacks to testing by exams. First of all, it contributes to the increase of depression in teenagers. For example, some students always have a high result in class, with some invidual reasons, they can not finish the final test, resulting in feeling of disappointed. In addition to this, they have a tendency to compare their score with other friends. As a result, students can not boost their energy to study efficiently, hence they diminish their study productivity so the test can not assess totally their capabilities.

In conclusion, exams are helpful to assess the student’s level and to provide an Internationally recognizable certificate. At the same time, having a rigid system might not be a better way to evaluate the knowledge of students. In my opinion, schools should complement formal exams with continual assessment to reduce the stress level of students and to give them more opportunities to prove their knowledge.