There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Although, exams have been around for ages, there is a growing tendency for children to be tested through regular assessment instead. Examinations conducted in the traditional way are the most reliable method of testing a child's knowledge level, however, there are some drawbacks to this as well.

On the one hand, exams provide the best method to analyze the knowledge and skills of students. In other words, these are conducted in a controlled environment providing an equal and fair chance to everyone to succeed. Since, the question papers are set and reviewed by experts, who are experienced in formulating them, the ability and skills of students can be adequately tested in the most efficient manner. Furthermore, such a way of conducting testing, provides the ideal assessment of students at a national level, consequently, it can be used to set standards and compare students for admissions to colleges and universities nationally.

On the other hand, one time examinations do not provide a fair method of testing a student’s ability. For instance, it is commonly accepted that this kind of testing results in excessive build up of stress and anxiety, thus, people can not perform at their best under such conditions, and therefore, it is unfair to test someone when they are not performing at their best. Another point to consider, is that research has shown that there are other better methods of assessing skills and retention such as continuous testing at regular intervals for smaller segments of the syllabus, which has been found to be much more efficient and students have been noted to get higher grades and excel academically.

In conclusion, exams have many advantages when it comes to assessing students, however, it also puts them under undue stress and might not be the best indicator of their knowledge and skills.