These days, Mobile phones and the internet are important to the ways in which people relate with one another socially.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to burgeoning technological advances in the telecommunication sectors the world is now a global village so people now communicate with each other easily through mobile phones and internet. One important question is 'does this enhance people's social behaviours?. The main merits of this are convience and reduced cost of communication whereas the major demerits are increase cyber crimes and distractions. Personally, i give credence that the merits outweigh the demerits.

Irrefutably, the importance of phones and internet in social communications cannot be over-emphasized. On that note, internet and phones have made relating to one another more convenient. To illustrate, with the advent of internet and mobile phones, it is easier to send messages across one another. In the past this is done through letters , fax and soon on but this are hectic. Furthermore, this has reduced cost of communication between individuals. For instance in 90's to send a mail overseas cost 5$ but nowadays it lower than that. On the whole, the major upsides of using mobile phone and internet in interacting with each other are convenience and cost effectiveness.

Conversely, there are drawbacks to this phenomenon. Firstly, it increases cyber crimes. To illustrate, the internet era has lead to increase in social networking sites such as badoo and 2go which makes communication easier so fraudsters uses this medium to perfect their crimes. A recent report by BBC has shown how fraudsters defraud citizens of their hard-earned money through the use of mobile phones and internet. Secondly, with these, people are easily distracted. This can be seen in youngsters at school with access to internet and mobile phone gadgets. They easily loss focus and this could lead to poor grades. If the use of mobile phones are encourage in schools, it will lead to distraction and consequently poor performance among students.

To sum up, increase in communication technology has brought about the use of telephones and internet in human to human interactions. However, this have it pros and cons. I reiterate my stand the the merits outweigh the demerits.