Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the household items starting from toothbrush to washing powder used by us are one or in other way being influenced by the advertisements we came across in our day to day life. I strongly believe that most of the consumer brands nowadays started to exploit consumers using carefully crafted marketing tactics.

As technology improves our way of communication too take different dimension, whether it be a mobile usage or excessive time browsing in the internet. Advertisers across the world have clearly understood this phenomenon of human behavior and started to push advertisement in the medium we most spent our time. This pattern has been used by leading consumer brands to create an awareness amongst the users about their range of products, they spent millions of dollars in advertising than in fact focusing on other aspects such as health and quality.

Other factor determine the buying pattern of the customers is the way the advertisement being portrayed into, for example if a working mother uses a certain milk powder from a popular brand then all the working mothers out there watching those ad play without their consciousness get the feeling that they too need to buy this product. This also being influenced by their peer groups who in turn purchase items based on what has been shown in the ad.

An important element being missed by the users who are influenced by the adverts is health, once it shown in the advert most of the people casually buy that articular stuff and use without giving a due consideration on the ingredients being used, sometime those may not be suitable for some people but are being ignored due to these push ads.

In conclusion, I note that coming across advertisements are inevitable in this modern world, however, I suggest that general public need to do their own homework beforehand being influenced by this trendy advertising when they make their next purchasing decisions.