today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

to what extend do you agree or disagree?

Better or worse, consumer goods are significantly influenced by advertisement. Although we decide what to buy and consume, it cannot be denied that advertising plays a critical role in our consumerism.

Firstly, advertising is one of the most powerful industry whereby many brands and products are introduced to the society. Secondly we are surrounded with different types of advertisements which cannot avoid observing such as TV commercials, billboards on freeways and etc. For example, while driving on freeway, there are so many ads that attract us and ignoring them is inevitable. Finally, advertising policy is mostly based on society’s demands. They oriented society’s requirements in a way that is more beneficial to them.

The role advertising plays in our life is hard to ignore. However many people fail to admit how much money they pay for their expenses are influenced by advertising. We can see youngsters are usually tempted to buy the newest technology which has been released. For instance, as a new Iphone has been exhibited, they are enthusiastic to buy it, while the old one is working properly. It seems to be like a flow that everyone wants to be a part of it. Furthermore, some try to deceive consumers with glamorous, flamboyant ads to attract them in a stiff competition between brands who produce the same products. As a result of these kinds of advertisement, consumers convince to buy that product with no urgent need of it. Apart from that, people’s lifestyle has undergone many changes in the last decade. It leads to changes in the meaning of some fundamental issues such as beauty. Nowadays beauty factors are considerably defined by mass media and people are compelled to follow the instruction they provide to reach the acceptable beauty by buying staffs such as cosmetics, clothes and so on. That is the power of advertisement which will lead to the high sale of some specific products.

To conclusion, my view is that we should be more aware of advertisement’s impact on our lifestyle to avoid wasting our money. It could benefit us if we underlie our consumer goods based on our demands.