Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

There is a controversial issue about the impact that grandparents cause by nurturing children on the household. Some social workers state that it causes negative for the household, while some politicians claim that it will be beneficial. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of positive effects.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers advocate that child rearing by grandparents is positive for the family. The first reason is that it usually allows couples to build career. Many young parents cannot build a career, since they are engaged in parenting, but retired family members can take a responsibility for it, which enables them to succeed at work. Another reason is that grandparents frequently teach youngsters better than young parents. The elderly have more experience than the rest members, so they can share both invaluable wisdom and advice to growing generations. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that child caring by grandparents is a positive trend.

However, some politicians propagate that nurture by grandparents is detrimental to the family. They justify their opinion with the following reasons. Firstly, they cannot teach children modern lifestyle. Many older people are unaware of contemporary trends, which are important to learn for youngsters to master, so they cannot fully replace parents in development. Secondly, they are not able to care for children. Many grandparents are unable to nurture children, since they are both too old and physically incapable, so they cannot entirely substitute parents, no matter how hard they want. As a result, it is rational to say that upbringing by the elderly is a negative tendency.

In conclusion, even though some social workers believe that it has adverse impacts on the family, I think that it is helpful for all members of family for the above mentioned reasons.