These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Nowadays, the number of people interested in teaching is decreasing significantly. Some sociologists claim that there are a great deal of reasons behind this negative tendency, but they don not have the faintest idea of how to solve this problem. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for that little interest in teaching and propose some possible solutions to this.

Let us start by looking at the reasons why teaching at schools is less appealing. One cause of this low interest in becoming teachers is relatively small salary. Take secondary schools in Kazakhstan for example. The majority of students show the faintest signs of interest in teaching, because it is not as lucrative as other occupations. Another cause of fewer people wanting to make a living as teachers is ridiculously high workload. In addition to the non-competitive income, young people are unwilling to do teaching for a living, since teachers frequently have to work overtime and, therefore, hardly ever have spare time to relax.

Nonetheless, some politicians state that this difficulty can be tackled. They suggest the following steps to take. The way forward would be to raise the pay of teachers. If the officials had increased the salaries at schools earlier, then secondary schools would not be facing the scarcity of teachers now. Another solution is for the government to hire extra teaching assistant. If they take on more helpers at schools, then it would reduce the burden of work on teachers, and, as a consequence, they would have more free time to unwind.

All things considered, even though there are plenty of factors why a small number of young people want to become teachers, I think that it is possible to make teaching attractive by taking the above-mentioned measures.