Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

You should write at least 250 words.

Computers have become accessible to all with the advances in information technology, allowing computer games to be readily available to the children. Children often spend majority of their time playing computer or video games as compared to sports. Although computer games can help in children’s cognitive development, they may also suffer from many mental and health related issues. In my opinion, there are many ill effects associated with play video games which will be discussed in this essay

On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users, or gamers, are transported into virtual worlds which are often more exciting and engaging than real-life pastimes. From an educational perspective, these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking and problem solving, all of which are useful skills outside the gaming context. Furthermore, it has been shown that computer simulation games can improve users’ motor skills and help to prepare them for real-world tasks, such as flying a plane.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming can be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets and frequent rewards to keep them playing. Many children now spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their friends. This type of addiction can have effects ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school, when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer. The rise in obesity in recent years has also been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction.

In conclusion, even though, computer games will help in the mental development and creative think of the children, but excess of anything is bad. Spending all day long on the computer games with no physical activities will have adverse effects on the health of the children