Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourist who visit such place?

Nowadays, tourists are opting for destinations where the conditions are severe, like Sahara Desert or the Antarctic, in order to gain useful experience and abilities, even though they are exposing themselves at risks. The following essay takes look at both sides of the argument.

To start with, the biggest benefit of visiting a place where the conditions are difficult is to gain abilities for surviving in such conditions. For instance, If you are exploring a place like Antarctic or Mont Blanc, where the temperature are way below zero, you will learn how light a fire, also you will learn how to find a shelter If it is too windy or it is raining heavily. No one is born with this abilities, but the concrete conditions can make someone to learn things that he/she have never done before. In addition, people are eager to visit places that are difficult to reach or survive in it, because this kind of destinations are not as crowded as common tourist attractions. Furthermore, visiting destination that is difficult to reach, rises one’s ego and self-confidence, because he/she succeed in it.

On the other hand, difficult journeys can be extremely dangerous and things can easily can go against the plan. There are several examples of travelers that do not survive or sustain serious injuries, for example during climbing mountains or rafting wild rivers. In addition, If someone get lost during his/her trip, she/he will have to be evacuated by an emergency helicopter, which usually cost a big amount of money and will also have to put in danger the lives of the rescue team.

To conclude, having a vacation in harmful condition can be extremely useful and self-esteemed. However, it can be supremely dangerous, because you can put not just your own live in danger, but also the others.