Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by the local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization has influenced every field of life, agricultural products have no exception from that.

I agree to the above notation that if people prefer local produce more than the imported food items, the economy and environment both would be definitely benefited with this change. In this essay, let us discuss whether the pros of eating local food outweigh the cons.

Let us first examine the reasons why people are attracting towards the eatables produced in foreign countries. Firstly, people are always open to try something new to eat because they feel bored eating same old local produce again and again. Secondly, nowadays the foreign food items are easily available. These food items are usually transported from one country to another by air, resulting in lot of air pollution, so if the people prefer the local produce food items, the air pollution can be reduced indirectly. Not only this the additional preservatives are added to packed foods to keep them fresh for long time, these chemicals are not only harmful to our health but also to our environment.

Agriculture is the backbone of economies of many countries. Indian economy is largely dependent of agriculture produce. If Indian government import food items from any other country Indian farmers will suffer. On the other hand, if government promote local produce the local farmers will be benefited. The better economic growth can be achieved by increasing the exports and reducing the import of food items, this can be done only by increasing the production of local food and encouraging people to eat local food.

As discussed above, it can be concluded that, the advantages of eating local produce outweigh the disadvantages. If people prefer to eat local food items more than the imported food items the economy and environment both will be have a positive impact.