Nowadays, it is common practice for people to obtain their food from agricultural
lands located in very distant places. However, some believe it might be more
beneficial for local destinations, both environmentally and economically, if nations
promote the consumption of domestic food cultivated by the locals. In my idea, the
merits of this approach outstrip its drawbacks.
The first advantage of food being domestically grown is that a nation’s economy
would probably witness an unprecedented boom. That is, some agrarian countries
pivot solely on agricultural production, striving to cultivate as much as possible.
Helping the nation’s overall revenue, farmers are highly motivated to produce more
food if their fellow countryman consumes their agricultural produce more.
Additionally, a surge in domestically produced food is likely to obviate the need for
a vast number of vehicles carrying the food to one’s locality, thus a significant drop
in the amount of pollution arising from those vehicles’ emissions and noises.
On the negative side, some nations lack sufficient resources, both geographically
and technically in order to grow quality raw material. Prepared from these poor
quality ingredients, food would probably possess minimum nutritional properties,
thus wreaking havoc on one’ health over a long-term consumption. Moreover, this
practice might disturb wildlife. To this end, persisting in producing food from
materials of a local origin, farmers are likely to seek more cultivable lands. This dire
need, in turn, would culminate in an invasion into other uncultivated lands, which
have previously been a haven sheltering varied species of wild animals, hence posing
a real menace to the life of those creatures. However, with a proper policy adopted
by the governments, these adverse ramifications are to be mitigated.
In conclusion, I think the merits of producing more locally cultivated food is likely
to eclipse the downsides, as this pattern helps a nations’ economy and the
sustainability of its environment.