Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

In the last couple of decades, there is an unprecedented surge in urbanization. As a result, life in metro cities is degrading. There are various reasons behind this negative development. In my opinion, globalization and population explosion are two main factors. However, to tackle this seemingly difficult problem, both the government and the people need to work hand-in-hand.

Globalization, firstly, is the main factor which undoubtedly leads to numerous problems. With increasing globalization comes rapid economic development, which indeed causes more and more people wanting to move from rural areas to urban cities. This naturally results in traffic congestion, air pollution, and housing shortage, among many other problems. Population explosion, secondly, is another factor which is aggravating the process of degrading living standards. As the population increases the resource consumption also increases, as a result, the cost of commodities – in other words, inflation jumps. Furthermore, the excessive population also results in higher competition for employment. India, for instance, is currently facing highest unemployment rates, especially in the metropolitan cities, and as per a recent report by the labor authorities, population explosion is the prime reason behind this disturbing trend.

There are a few solutions that the public authorities can enforce. To begin with, the concept of satellite colonies where a metro city is expanded to outer circles should be applied. This will definitely decrease the population and congestion within the city. Furthermore, rural development should be given equal priority to metro cities. So that people will not look for migrating to urban cities if they get good opportunities in their own home-towns. Public transport, more importantly, must be improved allowing to be able to travel with ease from city outskirts to their workplace. This, additionally, will reduce traffic congestion as lesser people tend to use private cars for commuting.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that life in developed cities has been degrading as a consequence of rapid development and a surging population. However, few actions can actually be taken to alleviate these problems and making lives in developed cities better and more sophisticated.