Today, the younger and older generations are in the same workplace. Is this more an advantage or more disadvantage?

Age diversity at workplace has become a topic of debate, these days, among many people. While some people believe that old and young people working together is advantageous, others think completely the opposite. In my opinion, this trend has both the benefits and the drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, one of the most evident advantages is the increase in productivity of a company. People of disparate age group play a very vital role in increasing it. This could be because both possess unique qualities. As young employees are more ambitious and enthusiastic, they can make efforts in further progressing in the company. Old people, however, are special due to their experience. They make decisions based on their past; therefore, they may act as a guide for fresh employees. According to the recent survey, which was conducted by students of Dehli University, companies where both old and young people are colleagues, their progress rate is quite higher. For instance, Proctor and Gamble (P&G), where this trend is followed and also found successful.

In contrast, this trend could be disadvantageous, especially for young workers. Old generation is typically vulnerable and, therefore, needs frequent medical attention. This increases burden on young people because of absence of old colleagues for a longer duration from work. As a result, fresh staff burnout and become demotivated at work. According to the statistics, more than 80 per cent of aged group workers avail their all medical leaves in the very first few months of the year.

In summary, age variety has some definite positive and negative aspects. I believe, although most old workers take frequent leaves from work, their experience should not be neglected. For that reason, combination of both people is necessary in improving the outcome of an employer. It is recommended that both ought to work in harmony and help each other for prospering their company.