Increasing gradually of sea levels has been proven to be closely related to Green House Effect which is a significant threat to human beings. This essay will firstly, discuss one of the main problems that more and more serious flooding has happened recently and it leads to fatal damages to houses and properties and even risking human lives, and secondly, talk about one of the main solutions is to build flooding barriers especially in the low level region in order to minimize or prevent the risks from flooding.

Global warming has evidently resulted in many harmful natural disasters, one of which is undoubtedly flooding. Flooding is caused by rising of sea levels since huge areas of iceberg are melting due to increasing temperature all over the world. As a result, houses and properties near the shore are significantly devastated and most of the time human fatalities occur in the incidents. For example, the serious flooding happened in the southern-east of Asia in the early 21st century, which caused a terrible damage to many countries in this region such as Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines and so on; moreover, hundreds of people were killed in this flooding and it caused over hundreds of millions dollars of economic loss.

One effective solution to this problem is to construct flooding barriers in the low altitude regions. Flooding barriers should be built at the height which is tall enough to overcome the historical flooding height in that area, and it must be strong enough to withstand the severest level of damage from flooding. For instance, Singaporean government has constructed the multifunctional flooding barriers to protect its nation from flooding long time ago, not only it can effectively prevent any flooding damage, it can also be used for educational purpose to teach children about the natural disasters and how they can be prevented.

In summary, flooding is one of the most serious problems caused by Green House Effect in the modern era; however, it can be effectively solved by building flooding barriers in high standard. It is predicted that more and more countries near to the sea will construct their own flooding barriers to protect their nations.